GEORG BÖHM - Organ Works

Buy CD from Amazon

Creutzburg Organ St Cyriakus Duderstadt
GEORG BÖHM - Organ Works - Friedhelm Flamme - Creutzburg Organ of St Cyriakus Duderstadt - 2-Disc Hybrid SACD - 761203750122 - Released: January 2012 - CPO 777501

  • Praeludium in C major
  • Ach wie nichtig, ach wie fluchtig
  • Allein gott in der hoh sei ehr
  • Auf meinen lieben gott
  • Aus tiefer Not schrei ich zu dir
  • Christe der du bist Tag und Licht
  • Christ lag in Todesbanden (version 1)
  • Christ lag in Todesbanden (version 2)
  • Christum wir sollen loben schon
  • Erhalt uns, Herr, bei deinem Wort
  • Capriccio in D major
  • Praeludium in G minor
  • Praeludium in G major
  • Praeludium in F major
  • Menuet in G major
  • Praeludium in D minor
  • Freu dich sehr, o meine Seele
  • Gelobet seist du, Jesu Christ
  • Gelobet seist du, Jesu Christ (version 2)
  • Herr Jesu Christ, dich zu uns wend
  • Jesu du bist allzu schone
  • Nun bitten wir den heilgen Geist
  • Vater unser im Himmelreich
  • Vater unser im Himmelreich (version 1)
  • Vater unser im Himmelreich (version 2)
  • Vom Himmel hoch da komm ich her
  • Wer nur den lieben Gott lasst walten
  • Praeludium in A minor

The organist Friedhelm Flamme has undertaken to perform all the existing organ works of Georg Böhm (1661-1733). Very few of his organ compositions are extant. It is said, Böhm was a master at composition and performing. We know very little about Georg Böhm. What we do know is that he was a well respected musician, most probably Johann Sebastian Bach's first organ instructor. He overlapped the life of the master until 1733. And Bach himself spoke highly about the man and his music. My exposure to Böhm goes back to the early 80's and I always wished to find out more about Böhm and his music.

The works presented are highly refined, polished. Friedhelm Flamme knows his stuff! Great choice in this organ. I like the Creutzberg Organ. With all the bells and whistles one could ask for in playing good baroque music. It has the gravitas of a nice big 32' Untersatz, large scale reeds and exquisite selection of softer pipes and brilliantly sparkling reeds. The works presented are thoughtful, performed by one who knows the music, not just the notes. Friedhelm Flamme plays at a pace that fits the music, and uses registrations that are enlightening. A great performer knows how to extract things familiar and things enlightening from all music. There is a delightful mix of great sonority and gravitas where it fits, delicacy and playfulness in the proper places. Altogether a very enjoyable set of discs. This is a recording that creates a standard to measure others by. Highly recommended!

Mark Kravchenko - February 2012